Mehran University of Engineering & Technology

In order to promote Engineering education to the people of interior Sindh at their door step, the Government of Sindh established a constituent college of Mehran University of Engineering & Technology named as “Mehran University College of Engineering & Technology, Khairpur Mir’s”. The college has been upgraded as a Campus of Mehran University of Engineering & Technology, Jamshoro, and renamed as “Mehran University of Engineering & Technology, Shaheed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto Khairpur Mir’s Campus”

The number of students admitted to the First Year classes of all the disciplines under regular scheme at Jamshoro is 1053 out of which 1000 candidates are admitted from Sindh Province, including Karachi Division, according to a precisely calculated ratio of population and other considerations. 34 applicants are admitted from other parts of Pakistan while 19 seats are reserved for the foreigners. Whereas under Self Finance Scheme and Special Scheme 548 and 86 candidates are admitted from Sindh province respectively.

The number of students admitted to the First Year classes of all four disciplines at Khairpur Mir’s Campus is 244 out of which 60 candidates are admitted under Self Finance Scheme. The detailed distribution of the seats is given in Prospectus.

Most of the laboratories and workshops of the teaching departments are properly equipped and practical as well as demonstrational training is imparted to the students wherever applicable. Continuous efforts are ongoing to upgrade these facilities for the practical training and new equipment is acquired for this purpose. Additionally, training to the concerned staff is also organized within the University as well as outside. In some cases, where the training facilities are not available within the University, the students are sent to suitable institutes in Karachi or elsewhere to undergo adequate training. Every department has been provided adequate number of personal computers and e-mail and Internet facilities for the training and use of the students as well teaching staff.

The postgraduate courses were started in the University in 1978 leading to Master’s Degree, initially, in three branches. At present, courses are offered in the specialized fields of ‘Structural Engineering, Civil Engineering, Geo-technical and Highway Engineering, Construction Management, City and Regional Planning, Irrigation and Drainage Engineering, Environmental Engineering & Management, Manufacturing Engineering, Energy Systems Engineering , Chemical Engineering, Industrial Engineering & Management, Mining Engineering, Metallurgy and Materials Engineering, Telecommunication and Control Engineering, Telecommunication Engineering & Management, Communication Systems Network, Information Technology, Telemedicine & e-Health Systems, Software Engineering, Computer & Information Technology, Electrical Power Engineering and Electronic System Engineering. Some courses are offered full time during the day while others are conducted during the evenings. The degrees to be awarded may be Post-graduate Diploma (P.G.D.), Master of Engineering (M.E.), Master of Science (M.S), Master of Philosophy (M. Phil.) or Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.); depending upon the quality and quantity of the research/work completed.

PREV: DHA Suffa University

NEXT: 韩国 EasyEndo Surgical 医疗机器人研究机构